SRI 2016 Annual Meeting

Society of Reproductive Investigation (SRI)

SRI Awards

The Society for Reproductive Investigation is pleased to be able to provide the following awards at our 2016 Annual Scientific Meeting:

President's Achievement Award
Presented annually to a junior member of the Society whose record in scientific investigation is outstanding and assures a continued productive career in research. The award recipient for 2016 is Emre Seli, MD.


Frederick Naftolin Award for Mentorship
Established in 2003 to recognize the contibutions of a member of the Society to training and career development of investigators in the field of reproductive and women's health. The award is named in honor of Dr. Naftolin, a former President of the Society and staunch advocate for creating a mechanism for the Society to celebrate outstanding service to our scientific community through excellence in mentoring. The award recipient for 2016 is Jerry Strauss, MD, PhD.


Rogerio A. Lobo Award
Established in 2007 to recognize the most outstanding contribution to Reproductive Sciences by a member of the Society. The award is named in honor of Dr. Lobo, a former President of the Society and former Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the Society for Gynecologic Investigation (JSGI) which is now Reproductive Sciences. The 2016 Award Recipient is Hilary Critchley, MD.


President's Presenter's Award (4 Awards)
Presented to trainees whose abstracts are selected from the most highly-ranked submissions, and who present in the ‘New Investigator Plenary'. The 2016 award recipients are: Y. Niu, Marie-Charlotte Meinsohn, Levent Mutlu, and Mathieu Nadeau-Vallee.


Pfizer-SRI President's Presenter's Award
Originally established to recognize the most meritorious abstracts (either poster or oral presentation) submitted by investigators in-training, the award is used as a means by which to encourage young investigators to present their research at the meeting and to result in the submission of more and better abstracts by those who need encouragement to consider a research career. Fellows and those in both the pre and post-doctoral training are eligible to receive the award, which is generously funded by Pfizer. The 25 awardees will receive a certificate and a check, and their training directors will be honored at a reception.

Congratulations to the 2016 award recipients!

Amanda Hankes, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Amy Kelly, University of Arizona
Andrew Thagard, Madigan Army Medical Center
Blanca Simon, Fundacion IVI; University of Valencia
Chelsea Feldman, Duke University
Consuelo Lomas-Soria, Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Medicas y Nutricion SZ
Elnur Babayev, Northwestern University
Emily Barnard, DO, Mayo Clinic
Fei Li, Yale University
Guadalupe Rodriguez - Gonzalez, Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Medicas y Nutricion SZ
Jason Rosenzweig, PhD, MilliporeSigma
Jie Xu, LSU Health Science Center
Katie Lowther, Yale University
Lubna Nadeem, PhD, Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute
Luiz Correa, DO, Mayo Clinic
Mancy Tong, University of Auckland
Michael Strug, Michigan State University
Mili Thakur, Wayne State University School of Medicine
Nuria Balaguer, Fundacion Instituto Valenciano de Infertilidad (fivi)
Priyadarshini Pantham, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Samantha Weed, MD, University of Washington Medical Center
Shanshan Yang, University of Wyoming
Syed Ahmad, MRC Centre for Reproductive Health
Xueya Qian, Guangzhou Women and Children's Medical Center
Z. Wang, University of Cambridge


Laxmi Baxi Award
Awarded to Ph.D. individuals who are either graduate students still in-training or postdoctoral fellows within five years of their Ph.D. degree to encourage young Ph.D. trainees to present their research at the SRI Annual Scientific Meeting. Two $2,000 travel awards will be given to the top abstracts in basic reproductive science and in translational reproductive science. The awardees receive a plaque, check and are honored at the SRI Annual Scientific Meeting. The 2016 recipients are Bin Cao and Gulden Menderes.


Thomas McDonald Award
The Thomas McDonald Foundation Travel Award acknowledges the highest ranked abstract by an investigator in-training within the field of fetal neuroscience. This award honors the legacy of Dr. McDonald, whose immense contributions to the field of obstetrics and gynecology focused upon the neuroendocrinology of the developing fetus, placental function, fetal brain development, and uterine contractility. The 2016 award recipient is Andrea Constantinof.


SRI Poster Awards
Awarded to the 20 best Investigator In-Training Poster Presentations and presented during a ceremony at the SRI Annual Meeting.

Congratulations to this year's recipients!

Abbie Johnson, University of Vermont
Barbara Verstraeten, University of Alberta
Bianca De Leo, MRC - CIR University of Edinburgh
Catherine James, University College London
Chiara Bellio, Massachusetts General Hospital
David Deschamps, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
Douglas Gibson, University of Edinburgh
EV McGillick, University of South Australia
Febilla Fernando, Academic Medical Center - Amsterdam
Fiona Brownfoot, University of Melbourne, Mercy Hospital for Women
George Patounakis, NIH
Hamid Reza Kohan-Ghad, Wayne State University
Kasra Khalaj, Queen's University
Laramie Pence, University of Maryland, College Park
Marcel Chuecos, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center - Permian Basin Campus
Mostafa Khater, Georgia Regents University
Nina Paauw, University Medical Center Utrecht
Roberta Migale, Imperial College London
Vitu Calabuig-Navarro, Center for Reproductive Health, MetroHealth Medical Center
Zaraq Khan, Mayo Clinic

Giorgio Pardi Foundation Awards
Provides a monetary award to a Junior Researcher, as well as to 3 best young worthy investigators coming from Italian Universities. This year's award receipients are: Elisa Scarinci, Alessio Paffoni, and Luca Pagliardini.